Am I a wedges girl?

Mmmmm wedges…with sour cream and bacon bits and cheese and chives….and sweet chilli! mmmmm…

No, no, no! not potato wedges…the shoes.

I tried some on yesterday and clomped around in them for a bit. Definitely comfier than the old high heel but I’m not sure if I can pull them off. It’s a lot of shoe! I’ve always thought that a wedge heel looks slightly odd on a really skinny leg, but as I have wider, more non sticky legs – would my legs end up looking TOO large? Like, would they accentuate my girthy legs or just be an extension of the girth and look fine?

I’m not fashionable. I’m not really that girly – I like to put make up on once every couple of months and dress nicely and when I do make an effort, I actually scrub up quite well. But on a regular, daily kind of basis, I don’t possess the girly gene. I don’t often need to go shopping with another person because I know what suits me, but occasionally it’s nice to have a second opinion to help me decide on things that stray from my normal choices i.e wedge heels.

The reason I’m thinking about wedges is because our NZ wedding will be on sand and grass and if I don’t find shoes I LOVE then I’ll just do the barefoot thing, or get some kind of foot jewellery. Wedges are dressy and the height will be kind to my legs so they are a good choice for practicality.

What do you think about wedges? Did you go from heels to wedge heels and never look back? Did you find the chunkiness of them a bit of an adjustment? Will I be OK if I wear them? Or will people think “that girl has no business in wedge heels – I mean, look how much girth they add to her already girthy legs!” Talk about first world problems!!

6 responses to “Am I a wedges girl?

  1. Hmm, Personally I dont like the ‘platform wedge’ that you have in the photos, I think it adds to much weight to the leg, nor do I like the straps around the ankle because it cuts the leg off from the shoe and it doesn’t give a flattering look. Like these on NZgirl http://www.nzgirl.co.nz/nzg-reader-faves/reader-favourite-wedges-the-best-shoe-style-ever/ But each to there own, at the end of the day it only matters if you love them and like wearing them. We have all had the feeling half way through an event where we think ‘I dont think I like my outfit, these shoes look odd, I should have worn my hair different’ haha So you got to love them straight away or they will end up in the closet and only used once a year.

    • I meant I like the ones on NZgirl link. They are low at the front, not much heel but give height and look flattering.

      • haha! I was wondering about that! I like those ones on NZ girl too. Very similar to what I tried on yesterday. Even if I like some stuff, I’m never sure if I’m making a horrible mistake or not. I need a stylist to say “yes! or NOOOOO!!” I guess it’ll be a matter of finding something I love immediately. Thanks for the thoughts Simone! 🙂

  2. I don’t think wedges would make your legs look big.. but then again, I have really skinny calves and I never thought they looked weird on my legs either! My one piece of advice is.. you want to be comfortable, and wedges on the sand doesn’t sound too comfortable to me 🙂 go barefoot I say! Or get those cute jewellery things that look like jandals but aren’t.. you know what I mean..

    • yeah, i guess I’ve only seen them on tiny stick models in magazines and I just think the shoes look as silly as their bobble heads. So, on a normal healthy sized person with thinner calves (like yourself), it’d probably look fine! I’ll only be on the beach for about 10 mins and then head back to the reception area which is beachy crab grass. I am envisioning a twisted ankle now that I think about it… perhaps I should just think of wedges for some other occasions. The jewelled foot thingees are cute! They are definitely on the list!

  3. I miss my wedges and am totally looking forward to seeing them (and all my other shoes in hibernation) when I get home – mine are similar to the ones in Simone’s link but are red – because they are faster… Anyway… I think go the barefoot or wear some nice sandals or something especially on the beach (I would totally be afraid of breaking an ankle). You can always rock the wedges when on more solid ground. Shoes are awesome – wear whatever makes you feel sexy 🙂

Leave a comment - I'd love to know what you thought.

