I will NEVER like Radiohead

Never say never. I bloody love Radiohead when I’m feeling a bit “meh” and there are too many clouds in the sky. It suits my mood to listen to them and I find myself singing along and feeling all wrapped up in the melancholic meandering that it is.

I used to say I hated Radiohead. They depressed me. Thom Yorke was nothing spesh, not compared to the likes of Maynard James Keenan (lead singer of Tool) my favourite singer ever. I was 16. OK, maybe 19? I knew beautiful rock lead singer goodness when I heard it and no one was going to tell me any different. Not you, Tim I forget your last name, with your long hair and your tortured soul and your not so secret crush on your best mate’s bi-sexual girlfriend. You and your love of Dr Suess is not credible and this conversation is over.

In my mid 20s, I learned to love them. Today I feel a bit like there are too many clouds in the sky so who better to listen to than Radiohead? Surprisingly, it makes me feel better to listen to them. It used to make me feel SO depressed to hear even just the start of a song that wasn’t Creep. Because everyone likes Creep. It doesn’t even matter that it’s the most well known song from a band you “hate”. It’s good rock music etiquette to love that song.

Here is one of their bestest songs; such a good one to turn up really freakin’ loud and just wail along to…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKd06s1LNik&list=RD028nTFjVm9sTQ

One response to “I will NEVER like Radiohead

  1. Pingback: 2014 RADIOHEAD NYC

Leave a comment - I'd love to know what you thought.

