Sandwich love

Yesterday the mr and I ventured out of our burrow to find fodder and fresh air. It was a lovely cloudy day, not a cool temperature but not too warm either. We passed houses we would want to live in and others we could see potential in. We sure do enjoy daydreaming about our future. However unreachable it may be.

Seeing as I had never been to Edgemont village before, we made our way on foot to discover whatever delights may lie on the one street that makes up this village.

The street is very cute with it’s colonial old times street lamps and greenery, but I was a bit dissapointed that, although from a glance it looks as though it may be filled with one of a kind and cute little stores, it’s actually just the big name stores cleverly disguised. I had heard there were some good places to eat and this was mostly what I was expecting.

We walked up one side, searching for these quaint places to eat but only encountered two of the larger coffee chains with poor food selections and overpriced coffee and a rather “proper” looking breakfast cafe with a shut door and more of an older clientele. Not very welcoming.

There was a gorgeous little church fair fundraiser happening with a “throw the ball at the hole and dunk the person into water” type game that I have only ever seen on American tv shows. There was face painting and a wall climb among other fun things inside that we weren’t privy to as we weren’t going to buy tickets. More for small children and families anyway.

The first side didn’t yield much of the awesomeness we sought. The opposite side of the street seemed to be just as uninteresting until we set foot inside a store with a butchery on the left and an artisan sandwich counter to the right. The smell was BBQ mixed with slow roasting meat wrapped up in freshly baked bread. Heaven!

After the initial fog of the nasalgasm had cleared, I remembered that I don’t generally eat bread and said to mr “it’s mostly sandwiches which I’m not really gonna eat, shall we go check out big coffee chain and see what they have?” He conceded but I could see the pain behind the smile. That smell…all that meat… Wince.

Big coffee chain lacked anything palatable and barely even had an aroma of enticing coffee goodness. Our rumbling tummies and coffee deprived brains were slumping into a sad grey defeated mess when I said “fuck it! Let’s go back to the sandwich place! I will ignore my glutardness this time to try something that smelled like meaty, bready dreams!” To which he said “yeah, let’s go back”.

We trotted across the road, ignoring traffic and human decency in our ravenous state and triumphantly set foot inside of Windsor Meat Co. Albeit a little bit awkwardly in front of the dividing wall so I couldn’t really see the chalkboard menu to begin with. Silly me.

They don’t have a vast selection, maybe five or six choices and a kiddy pick as well as a special of the day but what they offer is hard to choose from because it all sounds bloody delicious. I love that there were only a handful of choices. Simple is key. Especially for someone as indecisive as me…

Coffee wasn’t on offer but beer and wine were and as it was after 10am (actually about 2pm by this time) it seemed appropriate to toast our sandwiches and a (now) sunny Sunday afternoon stroll.

Mr chose the special which was an Asian pulled beef sandwich with a chipotle coleslaw. Ah, yum. And I got the slow roasted pork belly WITH CRACKLING I might add, arugula, artichoke aioli and pesto. He had a beer, I had a wine, there was free water which was married nicely to the cucumber and mint floating in it.

A sunny spot outside beckoned us and we waited in hungry anticipation for our sandwiches. When they arrived, we were not disappointed at all.

The first bite was a prelude to the tastiness that followed. Every single bite was more and more awesome. They hit the spot perfectly and had barely, if any faults. Being the little critic that I am, if I had to point out a flaw it would be that I think I was missing the aioli and my brown ciabatta roll was heading towards the stale end of the freshness spectrum. But not in a bad way, just slightly more chewy on the outside but still very fresh and warm on the inside. To be fair, we were there on the later side of what I can only imagine to be a busy lunch rush so I forgave the tiny details. Plus I was starving.

I have never loved a sandwich so much. Seriously, never. That I can recall right now. There was perhaps one in the Czech Republic but that was more of a cafe style thing and… Anyway it doesn’t matter. The meat is supplied by the organic butchery on the other side of the wall and you can tell it led a wonderful life and an even better afterlife.

Both our sandwiches were outstanding and needless to say, I raved about it to anyone who would listen at the BBQ we attended later that day.

I have since learned that there is another one in Vancouver at 2276 E Hastings street as well as the Edgemont village one (and a few more in the general Vancouver/north shore areas).
So go there. I don’t care where you are, get your arse to the Windsor Meat Co for, quite possibly, the best artisan, organic meat sandwich you will have this lifetime. It’s that good.

20140623-135215-49935613.jpg

Leave a comment - I'd love to know what you thought.

